Is Sargento Cheese Vegetarian?

Can Vegetarians Eat Sargento Cheese

This article may contain affiliate links and if you make a purchase after clicking on a link, we may earn a small commission at no additional cost to you.

Rennet, which is another term for enzymes, is added to cheese when it is being made. This is done to make the mixture thicker to form the curds. These enzymes capable of milk-clotting can be made through synthetic or animal sources.

The process of production for almost all kinds of cheeses involves the coagulation of enzymes. This usually makes cheeses a hard choice amongst staples for vegetarians. But is Sargento cheese vegetarian?

Yes, Sargento cheese is vegetarian as almost all Sargento cheeses, both sliced and shredded, are all made with non-animal, synthetic rennet.

In this article, we will be looking at what Sargento cheeses are made of and why they are considered vegan-friendly.

Let’s get started!

What Is Sargento Cheese?

The Sargento cheese is always shredded fresh from the blocks of real, natural cheese, and it will bring dynamism to your favorite omelet or cheddar cheese soup, whatever it is you might be making.

When you’re cooking with ingredients that are full-flavored or have strong seasonings, you’ll need a cheese that can make its statement. Sargento cheese does the job just right.

It has no added artificial hormones, no artificial flavors, and no antibiotics at all.

And the Easy-close FreshLock packaging helps keep the cheese fresh for longer, but we advise that you use it within five days after opening to get maximum freshness.

Is Sargento Cheese Vegetarian?

Is Sargento Cheese Vegetarian

Generally, Sargento cheeses are vegetarian.

The only other kinds of Sargento natural cheeses that may have animal enzymes as part of the ingredients are those that contain either Romano, Asiago, or Jarlsberg cheeses.

They are as follows:

  • Artisan Blends Shredded Romano or Parmesan Cheese
  • Shredded 6 Cheese Italian Cheese
  • Shredded Reduced Fat 4 Cheese Italian Cheese
  • Deli Style Sliced Jarlsberg Cheese

The cheeses dip in the non-refrigerated MooTown Snacks, which include: Cheese Dip & Cracker Sticks, Cheese Dip & Pretzel Sticks, and Cheese Dip & Crackers, are all made with beef rennet in them.

So, the Sargento products abound for various people, whether vegetarian or not.

What Is Sargento Cheese Made From?

It is made from a Cheddar Cheese base. This cheese has ingredients that:

  • Pasteurized Milk
  • Cheese Culture
  • Salt
  • Artificially obtained enzymes
  • Annatto (Vegetable Color)
  • Potato Starch
  • Powdered Cellulose
  • Natamycin

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Sargento Kosher?

No, Sargento is not kosher. But then, most Sargento natural cheeses are made with no animal rennet. None of them contain pork rennet.

The various Sargento natural cheeses which can contain animal enzymes as part of the ingredients are those that are generally considered to be traditional Italian cheese styles. The cheeses like Parmesan, Romano, Provolone, Asiago, and Fontina cheese.

What is Natamycin?

It is a food-grade mold stopper. It’s natural and gotten through fermentation. Don’t worry; it will not destroy any bacteria; it only prevents yeast and mold.

Does Sargento have any lactose-free cheese?

Generally, all Sargento cheeses are lactose-free. When cheeses are made, 95 to 98% of lactose is removed from the milk, and the remnants get expelled as the milk ages.

Is there gluten in Sargento cheese?

Only two variants. The Sargento Sweet Balanced Breaks and Sargento Balanced Breaks Cheese and Crackers varieties, including graham crackers, whole grain wheat, wheat flour, wheat germ, and barley, contain gluten.

Is Sargento cheese cruelty-free?

Absolutely. The makers are committed to treating cattle raised for milk production according to ethics and do not tolerate willful mistreatment of animals in any way.

Conclusion

It isn’t hard to find cheese meant for vegetarians – and it’s also not a walk in the park.

Sargento is a brand that makes a lot of staple foods, so the question of if the Sargento cheese is vegetarian isn’t out of place.

Sargento cheeses have various types of cheeses that are fundamentally vegetarian, and we recommend them first hand for our readers.

Scroll to Top