This article may contain affiliate links and if you make a purchase after clicking on a link, we may earn a small commission at no additional cost to you.
Natural cheeses are comprised of milk, salt, a “good bacterium,” and rennet, which is an enzyme. Those are the building blocks for every cheese. But for the “rennet,” every cheese would have been great for vegetarians. But what about Jarlsberg cheese? Is Jarlsberg cheese vegetarian?
Yes, Jarlsberg cheese is an excellent choice for vegetarians who cannot eat the cheese made with the rennet gotten from animals; Jarlsberg cheeses are generally lactose-free and highly recommended for vegetarians.
In this article, we will be discussing what Jarlsberg cheese is made of and why it’s a suitable cheese for vegans.
Let’s get started!
What Is Jarlsberg Cheese?
It is a mild-tasting, semi-soft cheese made from cow’s milk that has undergone swimming, but not totally. Jarlsberg is world-famous because of its characteristics. It has a mild, sweet, and nutty taste in the mouth and large round holes on its surface.
The holes or “eyes” as they are nicknamed come to be due to the action of a bacterium called Propionibacterium freudenreichii, which is a natural occurrence in milk. It is a wonderfully versatile kind of cheese because it is readily available in various forms.
You can buy it as an everyday staple for your sandwiches – and it can be added as a complement for your salads; it could also serve as a tasty addition to your cheeses on your cheeseboard and an overwhelmingly tasty snack!
It is also available in various forms. You can get it with or without its rind, you can either cut it to suit your needs like wedges, slices, or chunks, or you can get it as a grab-and-go cheese which are cheese snacks and cheese chips.
It could even come as a mighty 10 kg wheel. It is aged for about 3 months, and some other variations are aged for a timescale of 9 to 12 or 15 months.
Is Jarlsberg Cheese Vegetarian?
The Jarlsberg original, Jarlsberg cheese, and Jarlsberg special reserve, which are the three brands of Jarlsberg cheese, are all 100% vegetarian.
They are all naturally lactose-free and will serve as an excellent choice for vegetarians as they are made with artificially obtained rennet.
What is Jarlsberg Cheese Made Of?
The ingredients are all relatively simple and easy to obtain. They are:
- Pasteurized cow’s milk
- Microbial enzyme (rennet)
- Bacterial culture
- 27 % fat (fat in dry matter 45 %).
Frequently Asked Questions
What fruit goes with Jarlsberg?
Jarlsberg cheese is a hard cheese kind of Swiss cheese, although it has more flavor and is nuttier than Swiss. You would like it with tart apples and plums.
Is Jarlsberg cheese similar to Gruyère?
We have started above that Jarlsberg is a Norwegian-originated cheese currently produced in the United States and Ireland under license from Norway. It is mildly-flavored sweet and nutty cheese made from cow’s milk. Its texture is buttery and resembles the Gruyère cheese, but it’s milder.
What is a good substitute for Jarlsberg cheese?
The Emmentaler Cheese. It is another type of Swiss cheese, and it is similar to both the Jarlsberg and the Gruyère. Its color ranges from yellow to yellowish-white, and it is popular for how it melts quickly.
What is the difference between Jarlsberg and Swiss cheese?
Jarlsberg has the same consistency level, texture, and hole construct as the Swiss Emmental, but it has a sweeter flavor which is more nut-like than the Swiss cheese. One other difference is the density and weight differences between them.
Is Jarlsberg fermented?
The purpose of adding propionibacteria is to give the cheese its sweet, nutty flavor that brings holey varieties such as the Jarlsberg, Emmental, and French Gruyère.
Is Jarlsberg cheese vegetarian? The answer is a big YES!
The buttery cheese originated from Jarlsberg in Norway. It is mostly produced in Norway, but some of its makers reside in Ireland and Ohio’s US state.
It was licensed by Norwegian dairy producers, and it is classified as a Swiss-type of cheese.
Furthermore, it is an excellent choice for vegetarians and non-vegetarians alike.