Is Horseradish Vegan?

Posted on

Is Horseradish Vegan

Food FAQs


Prep time

Cooking time

Total time


This article may contain affiliate links and if you make a purchase after clicking on a link, we may earn a small commission at no additional cost to you.

Horseradish is a root vegetable like a carrot. That means that the edible part is the root. If you hold up horseradish to your nose, you won’t perceive any aroma, but the pleasant aroma that it gives off when cooked is quite intriguing. But is horseradish vegan?

Yes, horseradish is a vegan condiment but most times, the sauces made from it contain cream, eggs, and other dairy products. The use of eggs is not a barrier, though; you can always come up with your dairy-free and egg-free meals using horseradish.

Horseradish contains no horse as it is a root vegetable, so vegans don’t have to worry about that.

What Is Horseradish Made Of?

Horseradish comes from the large and white part of the horseradish plant. It can come from the same family as broccoli and wasabi. When horseradish sauce is prepared, it is mixed with a couple of ingredients to create a creamy dressing.

A common ingredient used in horseradish sauce is egg yolk, an animal product. The fact that egg yolk is a part of this horseradish sauce makes it automatically not suitable for vegetarians.

For homemade horseradish, you would require an 8-10 inches long horseradish, two tablespoons of water, one tablespoon of white vinegar, and a pinch of salt. Homemade horseradish is twice as strong as any store purchased horseradish, and it also lasts for about 3 to 4 weeks in the refrigerator.

Horseradish sauce is made of horseradish root, vinegar, water, mayonnaise, mustard oil, lemon juice, sugar, and salt but in some cases, milk is added.

Is Horseradish Vegan?

Horseradish itself is suitable for vegans as it is a root vegetable. But the horseradish sauce is not suitable for vegans as it contains egg yolk or milk in most cases, but that is not an absolute barrier for them.

Vegans can buy special vegan-friendly horseradish sauce, or you can also make your own using horseradish, and that is even a better option.

Is Horseradish Dijon Vegan?

Horseradish is 100% vegan on its own, but any other form of it is not vegan. However, the exception to this is the mustard horseradish, as it is vegan and can be consumed by vegetarians.

Why is it called Horseradish?

This name was attested in the early 1950s. It combines the words horse and radish. The horse was referred to as anything strong or coarse and had nothing to do with horses.

What Is Horseradish Used For?

Horse radishes majorly are added as condiments to mustards or mayonnaise to give it an extra taste. It has a spicy ting as it brings tears to the eyes and heartens the tongue.


Horseradish tastes better if it is grated freshly. There are other bottled varieties, but grating is a better option. You can also use it in preparing meat and vegetable dishes.

Fresh horseradish is usually served as a condiment for steak or prime ribs. If you want to prepare a meal that requires a tasty and spicy feel, horseradish is an excellent option.


You might also like these recipes