Is Cheddar Cheese Vegetarian?

This article may contain affiliate links and if you make a purchase after clicking on a link, we may earn a small commission at no additional cost to you.

Cheddar cheese is the most famous cheese in the UK, and it is the second-most prominent cheese in the entire US behind mozzarella cheese. From these figures, one would be tempted to wonder if cheddar cheese is good for everyone, including vegans. But is cheddar cheese vegetarian?

No! unfortunately, cheddar cheese is not vegetarian as it’s always made from cow’s milk, which is among the animal products that is not good for vegetarians.

During cheddar cheese production, the curds and whey are distinguished using rennet, an enzyme commonly gotten from the bellies of newborn calves. But then, bacterial, yeast or mold-derived chymosin can also be used.

What Is Cheddar Cheese?

Cheddar is a natural cheese that is semi-hard; it originated from the town of Cheddar, in the English county of Somerset.

According to English belief, only cheese produced within 30 miles of nearby Wells Cathedral could be called a cheddar. Cheddar is produced in various other nations today, mainly the United States. 

The delicate cheese curds extracted from milk are not only flavorful, but they are also the basis for most of all the cheeses made in the world, even our cheddar. A cheese becomes a cheddar through a procedure called ‘cheddaring.’ 

In this step of making the cheese, the extracted curd is warmed, stroked with salt, cut into cubes to sift the whey, and then piled up to be aged.

Some cheddar cheese are also made of chilis, onions or cracked black pepper, and ground annatto seeds to add the orange hue you often see in the cheese.

Types of Cheddar

Numerous kinds of Cheddar cheese are generated in America, including white cheddar, mild, medium, sharp and extra-sharp. It all depends on the aging and the particular styles made in New York and Vermont.

Is Cheddar Cheese Vegetarian?

Every kind of cheddar starts up as milk, like every other kind of cheese. When an enzyme called rennet is put in the strong fraction of the milk (known as curd) then the watery fraction (known as whey) is isolated. 

This rennet could either be animal-derived or vegetal.

Why is Cheddar Cheese Orange?

Is Cheddar Cheese Vegetarian

Your beloved cheddar is colored before the cheddaring process with annatto, a vegetable tint that is odorless and is gotten from the seed of the annatto plant. 

This seed, also recognized as achiote, gives a very subtle, nutty flavor and a striking reddish/orange color to foods in Latin America and the Caribbean. 

While some may say that annatto gives a nuttier composition to the Cheddar cheese, it’s not utilized in sufficient concentration to add much taste. The real difference in taste of cheddar comes from its age.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is so special about Cheddar cheese?

It is one of those distinctive cheeses that can be dubbed sharp and extra sharp. It shifts in zest and composition as it grows in age. As cheddar gets more mature, it goes from soft to tangier with a more sophisticated and deeper flavor.

What flavor is Cheddar cheese?

Its flavors vary from mild to sharp, with the difference coming from the cheese cultures used and the aging of the cheese. 

Is it OK to eat Cheddar cheese every day?

Very much, yes! Eating cheese every day can be part of your healthy eating plan if you don’t sensitiveness to lactose. Cheese can provide an adequate output of probiotics for a healthy life, plus the protein and calcium advantages.

What foods go with Cheddar?

Cheddar is an excellent pairing option with fruits, crackers, crusty french bread, and mustard.

A Cheddar advanced in age can be consumed on its own if you tend to relish its complicated zest. Cheddar cheese can also be taken with beer, wine, or whiskey; it all relies on the age of the cheddar.

Is Cheddar cheese good for pasta?

Absolutely! It is especially nice with convenience foods, such as a rich four-cheese pasta bake or spaghetti and meatballs.

Cheddar cheese is the most famous cheese in the UK, it is the second-most prominent cheese in the entire US behind mozzarella.

From these figures, one would be tempted to wonder; is cheddar cheese vegetarian?

During the production of cheddar cheese, the curds and whey are distinguished using rennet, an enzyme commonly gotten from the bellies of newborn calves. But then, bacterial, yeast or mould-derived chymosin can also be used.

To put it more plainly, cheddar cheese can be vegetarian or not. It depends on the kind of rennet that is used to make it.

Conclusion

Cheddar cheese is made in many countries worldwide today and has left the cheese with little to no surety of it being real or fake.

Any cheese manufacturing company or artisan factories in any nook of the world can tag the cheese created by them as ‘Cheddar,’ and no one would question them since it is not preserved like different cheese names.

To answer the question of is cheddar cheese vegetarian is quite simple. It can be made with animal-based rennet or a plant-based rennet.

Related Posts:

Scroll to Top