Is Ricotta Cheese Vegetarian?

Posted on

Is Ricotta Cheese Vegetarian

Food FAQs


Prep time

Cooking time

Total time


This article may contain affiliate links and if you make a purchase after clicking on a link, we may earn a small commission at no additional cost to you.

Products that are soft diary mainly contain what is called “whey.” These are products like paneer, ricotta, yogurt, and cream cheese. So is ricotta cheese vegetarian?

Yes, ricotta cheese is vegetarian because it is made with whey as opposed to animal based rennet. They practically never have rennet in them, this is because of their traditional making process.

Cheese producers who use plant-based rennet will generally list this type of rennet as a thistle rennet, vegetarian rennet, or plant rennet in their ingredient list.

What is Ricotta Cheese?

The ricotta cheese is most commonly created from cow, sheep, goat, or water buffalo milk whey.

According to the laid down rules guiding the making process, the whey used in making ricotta is obtained from the production of other cheeses.

In making most cheeses, the milk is separated into curds and whey. The curds are then pressed and made into cheese, and the leftover whey is what is used to make ricotta.

The whey then, is sometimes combined with some whole milk and vinegar or citrus juice to give it flavor.

Like other whey cheeses available, it is made by coagulating the proteins which remain after the milk curds has been used to make the cheese, notably albumin and globulin.

Is Ricotta Cheese Vegetarian?

Ricotta cheese is suitably ideal for vegetarians because they generally exclude meat from their diet.

It is a staple food that can fit in a healthful, balanced diet when mixed with meals underscoring low-fat and high-fiber carbs like fruits and vegetables with protein foods such as eggs and beans.

10 Fantastic Ways to Enjoy Your Ricotta

Ricotta cheese usually feels smooth when tasted, but it can be slightly grainy. It tastes subtly sweet. Well, of course, there can be exceptions.

The ricotta salata, which means “salty,” is soaked in brine, and it is aged for at least three months, which results in a texture that is more like feta.

Here are some ways to enjoy your delicious ricotta.

  1. Use it to bake a cheesecake
  2. You can mix it with your gelato
  3. You can use it as a base for your savory tart
  4. You can use it in place of your early morning yogurt
  5. Fold it into hummus
  6. You can spread it on your toast or crostini
  7. Fry it
  8. Use it to roast your chicken
  9. Mix it with pesto
  10. You can eat ricotta cheese fresh from the store just like any other cheese

Frequently Asked Questions

How does ricotta cheese taste?

The cow’s milk ricotta is milder on the tongue, and it has a more neutral taste than the other varieties available.

But in general, sheep milk ricotta has a slightly richer taste than the cow milk variety.

This unique ricotta has a sleek, smooth, rich viscosity, and a soft flavor with just a hint of sweetness.

Is ricotta actually cheese?

When studied critically, ricotta is not really a cheese, but a latticino which when translated means a dairy by-product. Just as the cow or buffalo milk mozzarellas are.

What is the difference between ricotta and feta cheese?

The major difference between both cheeses is that feta is aged in brine, which gives it a much wetter, more crumbly texture than ricotta salata.

Which is healthier? Cottage cheese or ricotta cheese?

The cottage cheese is a lot better for you nutritionally than the ricotta. The differences in the calories and fat content are quite significant.

To state it clearly, a full-fat or creamed cottage cheese has around 220 calories, but the whole milk ricotta has a whopping 428 calories.

How bad is ricotta cheese for you?

It isn’t bad for you at all. In fact, when compared to most other cheeses, it is a more beneficial choice because it contains less salt and fat.


The original ricotta cheese is made with whey with an addition of a minute amount of milk, but recently people have started to make ricotta with whole milk as well.

Nonetheless, they are all vegetarian in nature.


You might also like these recipes