Is Guar Gum Vegan? (Can Vegans Eat It?)

Posted on

Is Guar Gum Vegan

Food FAQs


Prep time

Cooking time

Total time


This article may contain affiliate links and if you make a purchase after clicking on a link, we may earn a small commission at no additional cost to you.

Guar gum is a vegan condiment extracted from the seeds of a desert legume, guar bean. Its production involves a rigorous DE husking, grinding, and sieving

Guar gum is mostly grown for its endosperm, a major source of water-soluble gum that can be used as an emulsifier and thickeners used in various food products. This powder has been very versatile and used since the 1950s as a supplement. But is guar gum vegan?

Yes, guar gum is 100% vegan-friendly as it doesn’t contain any animal product. It is made from a cruelty-free, plant-based ingredient that is entirely soluble in any vegan dish. So, vegans can safely eat guar gum.

What Is Guar Gum?

Also known as guaran, Guar gum is a galactomannan polysaccharide that has thickening and stabilizing abilities and is gotten from guar beans.

Due to its powers, it is useful for food, feed, and industrial purposes. For the processing, these guar seeds are mechanically DE husked, hydrated milled, and screened before they are used.

Also, medically, constant use or intake of guar gum may lead to weight loss due to its low digestibility, and also, in the late 1980s, guar gum was used heavily as a weight-loss drug.

It was reduced when it eventually led to esophageal blockage, which caused at least ten users to be hospitalized and one dead.

What Is Guar Gum Used For?

In many cases, guar gum acts as an/a emulsifier, thickener, moisturizer, softener, conditioner, stabilizer, and a whitening agent.

Guar gum helps in improving the viscosity of products, lubricates the skin to prevent glide, prevent water loss, condition the hair for improved suppleness, and acts as a thickening agent for food.

For our skin, guar gum also soothes the skin, lift and remove dirt from the skin, and restore the skin’s natural moisture.

Is Guar Gum Vegan?

Yes, guar gum is vegan since it is produced from a cruelty-free, plant-based ingredient that is entirely soluble in any vegan dish. It can be used as a gelling agent, a gluten-free replacement, and a thickener.

It is used in many snacks, jellies, and confectioneries. Due to its sticky and binding qualities, it Is an ideal replacement for stretchy protein.

Frequently Asked Questions

What Are the Side Effects of Guar Gum?

Some of the side effects of excessive intake of guar gum is increased gas production, diarrhea, and loose stools. These side effects do not usually occur for long as they decrease or disappear totally after several days.

If guar gum is eventually taken in excess, it can blockage the esophagus and the intestines. It is likely safe for people who take guar gum moved with about 8 ounces of water with no side effects.

It is very important to take your guar gum with water because it reduces the chances of choking or developing a blockage.

Is Guar Gum and Allergen?

Guar gum is usually made from the seeds of a guar plant and is high in fiber. The additives used in guar gum can trigger certain allergies in people as there have been occasional cases of asthma among people that work directly with the product. Apart from asthma, it can also lead to some digestive problems such as gas and bloating.

Is Guar Gum a Soy Product?

Guar gum has nothing to do with soy as it is produced from leguminous trees and is not suitable for legume intolerant people.

Is Guar Gum Dairy Free?

You can consume guar gum for those with milk allergies as it does not contain milk and can safely be consumed.

What Is the Difference Between Guar Gum and Xanthan Gum?

In the cases of guar gum and xanthan gum, both are common ingredients used in foods and are gluten-free recipes that can both serve as thickeners and emulsifiers. Their difference, however, is the type of dishes that they work best for.

Guar gum is said to work better for cold foods such as ice creams and pastry fillings, while xanthan gum is better for baked foods like your cupcakes.

While xanthan gum is gotten from fermented corn, the name it uses is derived from the name of the bacteria that leads to its production, Xanthomonas campestris, guar gum, as we discovered earlier, is gotten from guar plants.

Another major reason guar gum is well known compared to xanthan gum is that it is said to be a better thickening agent. The taste is the major way these two gums can be differentiated from themselves.

Because xanthan gum is handmade, its taste can be controlled, but the chemicals used in the production can render an unpleasant aftertaste. Still, since guar gum is gotten from a natural source, it maintains its earthy taste.

Related Articles:


You might also like these recipes